Private Dancer “30th Anniversary”

Scroll down to content

Tina Turner - Private Dancer 30th Anniversary - 2015

After the announcement of the Japanese release of Tina Turner’s Private Dancer album, the Queen milestone album is also being re-released by Warner UK to celebrate its 30th anniversary.

A special edition of the legendary singer’s album will be put out on June 29, 31 years after its release on June 1984.

The re-issue includes re-mastered versions of the the original tracks, including What’s Love Got To Do With It and Let’s Stay Together, along with a second disc of 12″ mixes, b-sides, three non-album singles and her duet with Bryan Adams It’s Only Love.

The collection also features the track Ball Of Confusion (That’s What The World Is Today) (with B.E.F.) recorded with Martin Ware from Heaven 17.

Private Dancer originally peaked at Number 2 in the UK and to date has spent 150 weeks on the Official Albums Chart. Tuner has since scored a further eight UK Top 10 albums, including the chart-topping Foreign Affair in 1989.

Order “Private Dancer 30th Anniversary” on LP here
Order “Private Dancer 30th Anniversary” on double cd here
Order “Private Dancer 30th Anniversary” Japan Import here

Continue reading for tracklist! 

Private Dancer – 30th Anniversary Edition Tracklist

Disc 1 – the classic remastered’ album tracks
1. I Might Have Been Queen
2. What’s Love Got To Do With It
3. Show Some Respect
4. I Can’t Stand The Rain
5. Private Dancer
6. Let’s Stay Together
7. Better Be Good To Me
8. Steel Claw
9. Help!
10. 1984

Disc 2 – the Extras
1. Ball Of Confusion (With B.E.F) Remix
2. I Wrote A Letter
3. Rock ‘N’ Roll Widow
4. Don’t Rush The Good Things
5. When I Was Young
6. Keep Your Hands Off My Baby
7. Tonight (With David Bowie) [Live At The Nec, Birmingham]
8. Let’s Pretend We’re Married (Live)
9. What’s Love Got To Do It (Extended 12” Remix)
10. Better Be Good To Me (Extended 12” Remix)
11. I Can’t Stand The Rain (Extended 12” Remix)
12. Show Some Respect (Extended Mix)
13. We Don’t Need Another Hero (Thunderdome)
14.One Of The Living
15. It’s Only Love (With Bryan Adams)

12 Replies to “Private Dancer “30th Anniversary””

  1. Great news! Wished they have added rare gems but better than nothing. Now i hope that Tina will do some sort of promotion!


    1. Mrs Tina Turner….i adore her…..what a life she lived….the good the bad & the ugly. She is a survivor & my SHERO💋 And i’m so happy she found LOVE & HAPPINESS. May GOD continue to


  2. Tina won’t promote this- it’s embarrassing that the anniversary was missed by the record company and her management. I hope it comes with a booklet with an new essay on how this fantastic album came about otherwise it’s just a quickly put together half hearted effort.😐


    1. Thanks for you comment David!
      Yes it’s unlikely that Tina Turner would promote something she isn’t involved a bit more. And it is seems obvious that neither RD nor Tina worked on this project.

      And concerning the date, indeed a bit embarrassing but better late than never huh 😉


  3. 15.00 GBP for so-called “remastered” tracks that have all been released before on CD? The only 2 tracks on this release that were not on CD before (that I know) are tracks 6 and 12 on Disc 2. And they are not worth 15.00 GBP. This is BS. I’m so disappointed.


  4. I’m still wondering if the Japanese Edition (even more so now) will have special features to it: HD sound…mini-LP vinyl replica artwork….tour memorabilia…complete lyrics like many Japanese reissues and editions have in the 21st Century at least. I’m glad to see that EMI/Universal/Warner or whomever figured out the absurdity of releasing a 30th Anniversary of a classic best-selling album, and limiting it to a Japanese import. Someone woke up, apparently. Yet, I still notice no mention U.S. domestic releases…what a shock (NOT!). I’m still probably getting the Japanese Edition either way. I do hope that Tina Turner included a personal note/essay about her experience during the making of the album, and its meaning to her, even to this day. At best, maybe she can do a (brief) interview telling her thoughts about the 30th Anniversary, and the deluxe package itself.

    P.S. Still hoping for the theatrical version of “One Of The Living” to be present on the release. That would blow every listener’s/fan’s minds/ears.


  5. created a better tracklisting a fewmonths ago…

    Private Dance – Remaster
    Disc 1
    1. “I Might Have Been Queen” 4:10
    2. “What’s Love Got to Do with It” 3:49
    3. “Show Some Respect” 3:18
    4. “I Can’t Stand the Rain” 3:41
    5. “Private Dancer” 7:11
    6. “Let’s Stay Together” 5:16
    7. “Better Be Good to Me” 5:10
    8. “Steel Claw” 3:48
    9. “Help!” 4:30
    10. “1984” 3:09

    Disc 2
    “Let’s Stay Together” (7″ Edit) 3:39
    “I Wrote a Letter” (“Let’s Stay Together” b-side) 3:24
    “Help” (7″ Edit) 3:45
    “Rock ‘n Roll Widow” (“Help” b-side) 4:45
    “What’s Love Got to Do with It” (Extended 12″ Remix) 5:48
    “Don’t Rush the Good Things” (“What’s Love” b-side) 3:46
    “Better Be Good to Me” (Extended 12″ Remix) 7:47
    “Better Be Good to Me” (7″ Edit) 3:40
    “When I Was Young” (“Better Be Good To Me” b-side) 3:11
    “Private Dancer” (7″ Edit) 3:54
    “Keep Your Hands Off My Baby” (“Private Dancer” b-side) 3:44
    “I Can’t Stand the Rain” (Extended 12″ Remix) 5:45
    “Let’s Pretend We’re Married (Live)” 4:22
    “Nutbush City Limits” (live) 2:56
    “Show Some Respect” (Extended 12″ Remix) 5:47
    “I Might Have Been Queen” (1993 Mix)




    Shipping estimate: Wednesday, May 27, 2015
    Delivery estimate: Thursday, May 28, 2015 – Saturday, May 30, 2015
    Order Received – March 24, 2015 9:12 AM
    We’ve received your order, but we haven’t started preparing it for shipment yet. The amount of time your order spends in this status can vary based on the availability of the item(s) and the selected delivery.
    Sold by: Int’l Sales, Inc.
    ¥ 2,970
    Release date: Wednesday, July 1, 2015
    Buy it Again
    Change Payment Method
    Cancel items
    Change shipping speed
    Change delivery address


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: